Apple Discussions Suck


The apple discussion forums are lame. Its against the rules to ask the community for “support”.

I asked if anyone else was annoyed by the lack of *specific* features in Mail.app and offered suggestions how it could be improved. The people in the forums warned me that I was starting a “poll” and it was against the rules, when all I really wanted was some community feedback.

The moderators removed the thread because it was “Unsolicited idea… ” but I think it was removed because I got into an argument with two other users about what the meaning of a poll vs community feedback and the definition of “support”.

The other users were actually helpful before they started arguing with me. They told me to submit a apple bug report, which I did. So if you have a problem with Apple products, avoid the apple discussion forums and seek help elsewhere.

Here is their email along with the original post.

Thank you for your enthusiasm and desire to help Apple make our products even better. We appreciate your comments and encourage you to share them with Apple on our feedback page:

http://www.apple.com/feedback

As part of submitting feedback, please read the Unsolicited Idea Submission Policy linked to the feedback page.

Apple Discussions is designed as a user-to-user support platform to address technical questions. To keep this focus we have removed your topic, “Feature Request: Attachments and Rules”, which is copied below.

Thank you for your understanding.

Kind Regards,

Apple Discussions staff

++++++++++

A copy of your message for reference:

This goes out to the Apple Team. Maybe we should start a poll.

My two biggest gripes about Mail.app are as follows.

1) Attachments need a setting in the preferences panel to always display as icon or view in place. Yes I know you can Control+click on the file, but I shouldn’t have to do this EVERYTIME.

Perhaps you could even let us change the setting for new and replied to email versus received email. I bet there are people out there who only want to preview attachments that they received or only when they are composing a new email.

There is already a plugin available, so if you don’t want to write your own, give the guy $50,000 and make it free for everyone.
http://lokiware.info/Mail-Attachments-Iconizer

2) Make rules easier to use.

I should have an option in the Message Menu when I have an email selected that allows me to create a Rule based on the email. Thunderbird allows you to do this. I dislike having to goto preferences and rules tab everytime I decide that I want a new rule. Lets try to focus on making the software easier to use people.

This message is sent from a send-only email account. Any replies sent to this address are deleted automatically by the system.

Leave a Reply

